Return to Headlines

Curtain Call

The 2015-2016 Drama Club season offered every theatre lover something to tickle their fancy. From pirates, to pixies, to poisoned wine, Drama Club has been able to encapsulate a little bit of everything. The season started with the summer musical, Pirates of Penzance, then transitioned into the One Act Festival, and from there, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, Arsenic and Old Lace, and finally, Variety Show. To celebrate a great season, drama members got together for an awards ceremony on May 26th. The awards show included inducting new officers and thespians, awarding graduates with honor bars, honoring graduating seniors, and rewarding returning thespians.

Part of the ceremony includes honoring actors and actresses that have performed exceptionally well in their rolls during the drama season. These thespians are awarded a plaque and the honor of being the reigning “Best Actor” or “Best Actress” in drama club. This year, the honors were awarded to Kate Ferguson for her roles as Susan in The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe and Abby in Arsenic and Old Lace. For the second year in a row, Alex Keefe was awarded for his roles as Peter in The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, and Mortimer in Arsenic and Old Lace. Winning the best actress award was an honor,” says Ferguson. “It felt great to be recognized by fellow members of the club.” The celebration also included awarding exceptional members of the tech and backstage crews. 

The Drama Club Awards also serves as a ceremony to welcome new members into the International Thespian Society: a society recognizing the achievements of young thespians who participate in more than one aspect of the theatrical arts. This year, the society welcomed many new members ranging from freshmen to juniors. One new member, Alex Meeth, shares his excitement for the recognition. “Becoming a thespian is a neat honor, because it is a essentially membership into a global society of fellow theatre geeks[...]what I find really unique is the connection students have with all the elements of theatre.” Meeth also was inducted as one of the new drama club officers for the 2016-2017 season. He shares this honor with Kate Ferguson, Cas Mayhall, Sierra Scarce, Kimberly LaBerge, and Tamsin Olson. “I'd like to keep the close community of drama club,” says Ferguson, ”but also create more opportunity for students to participate!”

The awards provided a final curtain for the 2015-2016 season. It was a farewell to some, but also a welcome to others as drama club enters into another year of shows, fun, and memories. Cue the applause.


Emily Giombi

June, 2016